Amherst Athletics  home


Amherst College > Athletics > W-Tennis > Cohen Tabbed W-Tennis NESCAC Player of the Year
Cohen Tabbed W-Tennis NESCAC Player of the Year
April 28, 2001

Jamie Cohen '01
Jamie Cohen '01 was
announced as the conference's
top player at the
inaugural NESCAC Women's
Tennis Championship
AMHERST, MA - Senior Jamie Cohen of Amherst College was named the 2001 NESCAC Women's Tennis Player of the Year. Cohen, who captured the NCAA Division III singles title last year, was announced as the conference's top player at the inaugural NESCAC Women's Tennis Championship this past weekend at Amherst. Diana Goldman of Trinity was named the Rookie of the Year, senior Brooke Gibson of Williams was named Senior Sportswoman of the Year, and Jim Watson of Tufts earned Coach of the Year accolades.

The All-NESCAC team was determined from action at the tournament. Each player who reached the final in any of the three singles flights or won any of the three doubles flights earned first-team All-NESCAC honors. Each player who advanced to the semifinal round in singles or reached the final in doubles received second-team all-conference recognition.

Junior Selma Kikic of Williams earned first-team all-conference honors by capturing titles in singles and doubles. She captured the "A" flight (consisting of first and second singles players) singles title without dropping a set, including a win over Jamie Cohen in the semifinal round. She teamed with sophomore Tracy Cheung to win the "A" doubles championship. Cheung also won the "B" flight (third and fourth singles) title.

Freshman Kate Troy of the Ephs won the "C" flight (fifth and sixth singles) title to receive first-team All-NESCAC recognition. Two other Williams doubles teams earned first-team all-conference honors. Brooke Gibson and senior Alison Swain won the "B" doubles flight, while senior Stephanie Hall and junior Caroline Wasserman captured the "C" doubles flight. Gibson also earned first-team honors for reaching the "B" singles final.

Rounding out the first team were junior Stephanie Fong of Amherst, who reached the "A" singles final and senior teammate Carolyn Pastel, who advanced to the final of the "C" singles flight.

2001 All-NESCAC Women's Tennis Team

First Team
Tracy Cheung (Williams)
Stephanie Fong (Amherst)
Brooke Gibson (Williams)
Stephanie Hall (Williams)
Selma Kikic (Williams)
Carolyn Pastel (Amherst)
Alison Swain (Williams)
Kate Troy (Williams)
Caroline Wasserman (Williams)

Second Team
Roopali Agarwal (Amherst)
Susanna Burke (Amherst)
Jamie Cohen (Amherst)
Heather Cole (Amherst)
Stephanie Fong (Amherst)
Diana Goldman (Trinity)
Stephanie Hall (Williams)
Wallis Molchen (Amherst)
Carolyn Pastel (Amherst)
Iffat Saeed (Tufts)

NESCAC Player of the Year
Jamie Cohen (Amherst)

NESCAC Rookie of the Year
Diana Goldman (Trinity)

NESCAC Sportswoman of the Year
Brooke Gibson (Williams)

NESCAC Coach of the Year
Jim Watson (Tufts)