Photo by Erik Andrews '09
The Lord Jeffs will carry momentum from their NESCAC title into the NCAA Championship Tournament

Amherst Among Hosts for First Three Rounds of NCAA Tournament

From an NCAA Release

May 1 , 2007

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – The NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Committee has selected the 48 teams that will compete in the NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Championships. Among the regional hosts is Amherst College, who received the overall #1 seed in the tournament.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at regional sites. The quarterfinal, semifinal and final rounds of the team championship will be played May 15-17 and the individuals championships will be played May 18-20 at the University of Mary Washington Battleground Complex hosted by the University of Mary Washington.

The championship provides for a 48-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 32 conference champions, which form “Pool A.” Eight teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining eight teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference’s AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

Other NESCAC schools taking part in the NCAA championships are Tufts University and Bowdoin, Middlebury and Williams colleges.

Click here for a full bracket.