Amherst Among 41 Teams Participating in NCAA Championships

From an NCAA Release

May 1 , 2007

INDIANAPOLIS, IN -- The NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Committee has selected the 41 teams that will participate in the Championships. Among the field of 41 is Amherst College, who receives a first-round bye and will take on Massachusetts Institute of Technology Saturday, May 5 at regional host Middlebury College at 2 p.m.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at non-predetermined regional sites. The quarterfinal, semifinal and final rounds will be played at Washington University in St. Louis. Finals competition will also be held at the Washington U. in St. Louis, May 15-20.

The selection of teams for the championships is based on won-lost record, strength of schedule and eligibility and availability of student-athletes. The committee selected teams from the following:

Pool A – 25 teams from conferences with automatic qualifiers.

Pool B – nine teams from independents or conferences without automatic qualifiers.

Pool C – seven additional teams from conferences with or without automatic qualifiers and independents.

The selection committee considered team results in collegiate matches play from September 5, 2006, until the time of final selections.

Click here for a full bracket.