Amherst College Athletics
Amherst College  
Site Map
Amherst College > Athletics > Women's Tennis > Jeffs to Host NCAA Regional
Tristan Hedrick '05
Senior quad-captain Tristan Hedrick carries a seven-match winning streak into NCAA Regional play.

Amherst to Host NCAA Women's Tennis Northeast Regional for Fifth Straight Year

May 4, 2005

AMHERST, MA - After winning its second consecutive NESCAC Championship, the Amherst College women’s tennis team will host one of two NCAA Division III Northeast Regionals on Saturday and Sunday, beginning at noon each day. With a 9-2 overall record, the Jeffs drew a first-round bye and, on Sunday, will face the winner of Saturday’s first-round match between Wellesley College (21-1) and Tufts University (8-5). The winner will advance to the NCAA Quarterfinals, which, along with the NCAA Semifinals and Finals, will be hosted by Kalamazoo College in Kalamazoo, Michican, May 18-23. This is the fifth straight year the Jeffs have hosted NCAA Regional play.

Amherst is no stranger to the postseason. Fourteenth-year head coach Jackie Bagwell has led the Jeffs to seven consecutive NCAA Quarterfinals, including a string of four straight trips to the NCAA Final Four (from 1998 to 2001), two more consecutive Final Four appearances in 2003 and 2004 and the college’s first NCAA Team Championship in any sport in 1999.

The Jeffs are on a roll of late, winning five straight matches, including a quartet of victories against teams ranked in the top five in the latest International Tennis Association (ITA) Northeast Region Poll. Amherst is the No. 1 team in the Northeast according to the most recent rankings, which were released on April 15.

The Jeffs wrapped up their second straight NESCAC Championship on May 1, winning three-out-of-four singles flights and sweeping all three doubles brackets, besting runner-up Tufts by a considerable eight-point margin. Senior Tristan Hedrick (Walnut Creek, CA) and rookies Monica Snyder (Newton, MA) and Laura Stein (Rockport, ME) each won respective singles titles, while Hedrick teamed with classmate Rachel Holt (New York, NY), Snyder paired with junior Kristen Raverta (W. Springfield, MA) and Stein joined senior Erin Murphy (Yonkers, NY) to sweep doubles competition.

Hedrick was an All-America selection in both singles and doubles last season, advancing to the NCAA singles quarterfinals and teaming with Holt to qualify for the NCAA doubles championships. She also earned ITA All-America honors in doubles as a sophomore and is a six-time All-NESCAC selection.

Holt joined Hedrick as an All-America in doubles after earning both singles and doubles All-America honors in 2003 and singles All-America honors in 2002. Like Hedrick, Holt is a five-time All-NESCAC selection. She also earned NESCAC Rookie of the Year, Northeast Region Rookie of the Year and ITA National Co-Rookie of the Year honors as a first-year in 2002 and was recently named the 2005 NESCAC Player of the Year.

Raverta earned singles All-America honors for the second straight year in 2004, capping a season in which she won the NESCAC A-Flight singles championship and paired with then senior captain Wallis Molchen (Wilmington, DE/Tower Hill School) to win the NESCAC B-Flight doubles championship. She is a five-time All-NESCAC selection and was named the NESCAC and ITA Northeast Region Rookie of the Year as a first-year in 2003.

Last year, Amherst advanced to the NCAA title for match before falling to Emory University. Emory finished the season at 24-1, earned its third national championship and became just the second team in NCAA Division III history to win back-to-back NCAA titles.

The NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Subcommittee selected the 26 teams that will compete in the NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championships.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first and second rounds played at non-predetermined regional sites. Selection of teams was based on head-to-head competition, won-lost record, strength of schedule, results against common opponents, spring competition with an emphasis on late-season play, consistency of lineup and eligibility and availability of student-athletes.

The subcommittee selected seven teams from the Atlantic South region, seven from the Central region, seven from the Northeast region and five from the West region. The committee considered team results in collegiate match play from September 1, 2004, until the time of the final selections.