Amherst College Athletics
Amherst College  
Site Map
Amherst College > Athletics > Football > Ladd Named "Swede" Nelson Award Winner
Fletcher Ladd '05
Ladd is Amherst's first-ever "Swede" Nelson Award winner.

Gridiron Club of Greater Boston Names Fletcher Ladd 59th-Annual Nils V. "Swede" Nelson Award Winner

December 22, 2004

AMHERST, MA - Amherst College senior co-captain tailback Fletcher Ladd (Amherst, NH/Souhegan) will receive the 59th-Annual Nils V. “Swede” Nelson Award at the Bob Whelan College Football Awards Night, presented by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston, on Friday, Jan. 14 at the Burlington Marriott Hotel in Burlington, Mass. The award recognizes outstanding achievement in academics, athletics, sportsmanship and citizenship. Ladd is the first-ever recipient from Amherst College.

Ladd, who graduates as Amherst’s all-time leading rusher with a whopping 3,817 career yards, has earned a wealth of postseason accolades during his storied four-year playing career. As a senior, after leading the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) in rushing with 1,137 yards on 184 carries, he was named the NESCAC Offensive Player of the Year, First-Team All-NESCAC (his fourth straight all-conference award), the ECAC Northeast Division III Player of the Year, a First-Team ECAC Northeast Division III All-Star and First-Team CoSIDA Academic All-District (his second straight Academic All-District selection).

Ladd was a Second-Team CoSIDA Academic All-America selection as a junior as well, when he finished second in the NESCAC in rushing for the second consecutive season. He also finished second in the conference in rushing touchdowns (seven) as a rookie in 2001.

The awards banquet will begin with a social hour at 6 p.m., followed by dinner at 7 p.m. Tickets are $50 each and $500 for a table of ten. To purchase tickets, mail a check to the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston, 9 Broadway (unit 320), Saugus, Mass., 01906. All tickets can be picked up at the door, and none will be mailed.

Ladd is the first Amherst player to be honored by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston since former Lord Jeff quarterback Rich Willard ’98 was presented the Joseph P. Zabilski Award (which recognizes New England's best collegiate players in Divisions II and III) in 1997. Amherst’s Alex Bernstein ’97 also won the Zabilski Award in 1996.