Amherst College Athletics
Amherst College  
Site Map
Amherst College > Athletics > Women's Soccer > Poor Named Academic All-American

Cathy Poor Named to Verizon Academic All-America Women's Soccer Team

February 8, 2002

Cathy Poor '02
Poor was the only student-athlete from the NESCAC to earn Acadamic All-America honors in women's soccer
AMHERST, MA - Cathy Poor of Amherst College and Katie Buchert of Ohio Wesleyan University, whose teams met in the Division III National championship game, were among the student-athletes named to the 2001-02 Verizon Academic All-America Women's Soccer Teams, announced today after voting by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

As part of an overall expansion of the Verizon Academic All-America program, men's and women's soccer teams were selected in the University (Division I) and College (Divisions II-III) Divisions for the first time in the history of the program.

Poor (3.80/chemistry & biology), a senior from Harwichport, Mass., was the 2001 New England Small College Athletic Conference player of the year and is her school's all-time leader in goals (41) and points (105). Buchert, a senior from Middletown, Ohio, was a co-captain and four-year starter who was selected to the NCAA all-tournament team. She maintained a 3.93 Grade Point Average (GPA) as an education major. Ohio Wesleyan defeated Amherst for the Division III National Championship, 1-0, on November 17.

The College Division Team Member of the Year was Emory University goalie Andrea Pawliczek, who won the same honor in 2000 on the fall/winter at-large team. A senior from Lexington, Mass., she has a perfect 4.00 GPA for her college career as an economics/chemistry major.

The University Division Team Member of the Year was Andi Sellars of Florida (3.61/sport management), a senior from Satellite Beach, Fla., who was a two-time All-America.

In addition to Pawliczek, four other College Division first team members had perfect 4.00 GPA's - Jessi Adair (Presbyterian), Sarah Ridley (William Penn), Allison Vroman (Minnesota St.-Mankato) and Carla Wagner (Augustana/IL). Three University Division first team members accomplished the same feat - Katharina Linder (Hartford), Lisa Nowoslawski (Alabama-Birmingham) and Vanessa Pruzinsky (Notre Dame).

This year marks the 50th anniversary of the Verizon Academic All-America program, which was founded by CoSIDA in 1952 to recognize collegiate student-athletes for their outstanding achievements in the classroom and on the playing field. Over the past 50 years, the Verizon Academic All-America program has grown into one of the most recognized and prestigious collegiate scholar-athlete awards nationwide, honoring student-athletes from all NCAA championship sports.

The Verizon Academic All-America Teams are selected by a vote of the 1,800-member CoSIDA. To be eligible, an athlete must be a varsity starter or key reserve and maintain a cumulative GPA of at least 3.20 on a scale of 4.00. Sports information directors nominate eligible athletes from their schools who are named to district teams prior to being voted upon the national level.

(College Division)

First Team
Erin Archer (Sr. - Indianapolis)
Jessi Adair (Jr. - Presbyterian)
Katie Buchert (Sr. - Ohio Wesleyan)
Tiffany Crooks (Sr. - Ashland)
Sara Kunneman (Sr. - Nebraska Wesleyan)
Dorothy May (Sr. - Angelo St.)
Andrea Pawliczek** (Sr. - Emory)
Cathy Poor (Sr. - Amherst)
Sarah Ridley (Jr. - William Penn)
Allison Vroman (Jr. - Minnesota St.-Mankato)
Carla Wagner (Sr. - Augustana)

Second Team
Julie Benanzer (Sr. - Oklahoma City Univ.)
Jenny Bruce (So. - Wisc.-Stevens Point)
Loren Cerami (Sr. - Rochester)
Susan Gonyea (Jr. - RPI)
Sarah Kron (So. - Wheaton)
Mindie Meek (Sr. - Oklahoma City Univ.)
Adrianne Peters (Jr. - Montevallo)
Lydia Raburn (Sr. - Kalamazoo)
Annie Schenck (Jr. - Emory)
Jennie Vroman (Sr. - Muhlenberg)
Carrie Webster (Sr. - Lynchburg)

Third Team
Kristie Gordy (Sr. - Northern St.)
Allison Lewandowski (Sr. - Delaware Valley)
Jen Shinbori (Sr. - Luther)
Rebecca Vaccaro (Sr. - Mary Washington)
Elizabeth Hermiller (Sr. - Albion)
Nicole Hundley (Sr. - Elizabethtown)
Kathy Homes (Sr. - St. Mary's)
Rebecca Mouw (Jr. - Wheaton)
Melissa Lehaman (Sr. - Messiah)
Denise Buckley (Sr. - College of New Jersey)
Sally Cole (Jr. - Oklahoma City)

** - Verizon Academic All-America( Team Member of the Year - College Division