Amherst College Athletics
Amherst College  
Site Map
Amherst College > Athletics > Cross Country > X-Country Prepped for NESCAC Championships

Cross Country Prepped for NESCAC Championships

October 24, 2001

AMHERST, MA - Bowdoin College hosts the 2001 NESCAC Cross Country Championships on Saturday, October 27. The Williams College men's team seeks its eighth consecutive conference championship, while the Middlebury College women's team attempts to win its fourth straight conference title. Middlebury captured the women's national title at the 2000 NCAA Cross Country Championships.

The Middlebury women's team enters the championship as the second-ranked team in the nation. Williams is ranked eighth, Amherst ninth, Hamilton 20th, Trinity 24th and Bowdoin 28th in the latest poll. In last year's NESCAC championship, Middlebury finished 25 points ahead of runner-up Williams. Hamilton finished third with Amherst edging Connecticut College for fourth place. The women's race begins at noon at the Pickard Field Cross Country Course.

Tufts is the top-ranked NESCAC men's team, ranked fifth in the latest national poll. Bowdoin is ranked eighth, Trinity is ranked 19th, and Williams 21st. In last year's championship, the Ephs finished 66 points ahead of the runner-up. Bowdoin edged Trinity for second place with Tufts placing fourth. The men's race begins at 1 p.m. at the Pickard Field Cross Country Course.

NESCAC Cross Country Champions
Year Men's Champion/Women's Champion
2000 Williams/Middlebury
1999 Williams/Middlebury
1998 Williams/Middlebury
1997 Williams/Williams
1996 Williams/Williams
1995 Williams/Bowdoin
1994 Williams/Colby
1993 Colby/Williams
1992 Williams/Bowdoin
1991 Bowdoin/Williams
1990 Colby/Williams
1989 Bates/Williams
1988 Hamilton/Williams
1987 Colby/Tufts
1986 Bates/Colby
1985 Bates/Middlebury
1984 Bates/Wesleyan
1983 Bates/Middlebury