1997 Fall
Football
Men's Soccer
Women's Soccer
Field Hockey
Volleyball
Women's Tennis
Cross Country
Golf

1997-98 Winter
Men's Basketball
Women's Basketball
Men's Ice Hockey
Women's Ice Hockey
Men's Squash
Women's Squash
Men's Swimming
  and Diving
Women's Swimming
  and Diving
Indoor Track

1998 Spring
Baseball
Softball
Men's Lacrosse
Women's Lacrosse
Men's Tennis
Women's Tennis
Track and Field
Golf

Clubs

Archives

Directory

SID Page

AC Home

Amherst College Sports

1998 Amherst College Softball
31-8, NCAA New England Region Runner-Up

 Quickfacts and Season Outlook

 1998 Roster

 NCAA Statistics

 NCAA Regional Polls

 1998 Schedule and Results

Day	Date		Opponent		Time/Result  (Record)
Spring Trip - Fort Myers, Florida
Sat	Mar 14		North Park College	W 13-10	(1-0)
Sun	Mar 15		Wheaton (MA)		L 0-7	(1-1)
Sun	Mar 15		Tufts			L 6-7	(1-2)
Mon	Mar 16		Roger Williams		W 8-0	(2-2)
Mon	Mar 16		Elms			W 8-0	(3-2)
Tue	Mar 17		UMass-Lowell		W 10-0	(4-3)
Thu	Mar 19		Hamilton		W 4-3	(5-3)
Fri	Mar 20		Keene State		W 8-0	(6-3)
Fri	Mar 20		Rhode Island College	W 3-2	(7-3)
Sat	Mar 21		Bowdoin			W 13-4	(8-3)
Sat	Mar 21		Albright		W 8-2	(9-3)

Northern Schedule
Sat	Mar 28		at Wesleyan		W 7-2	(10-3)
			at Wesleyan		W 12-1	(11-3)
	Allison Schwarting Named NESCAC Player of the Week
Sat	Apr 4		at Trinity		L 1-4	(11-4)
Sat	Apr 4		at Trinity		W 13-1	(12-4)
Tue	Apr 7		Smith			W 5-0	(13-4)
Tue	Apr 7		Smith			W 5-4	(14-4)
Sat	Apr 11		Norwich 		W 4-3 (8)	(15-4)
Sat	Apr 11		Norwich			W 9-0	(16-4)
Mon	Apr 13		Mass College		W 4-1	(17-4)
Mon	Apr 13		Mass College		W 7-3	(18-4)
Tue	Apr 21		Clark			W 5-1	(19-4)
Fri	Apr 24		at Westfield		W 1-0	(20-4)
Sat-Sun	Apr 25-26	Tufts Tournament
	Apr 25		 Tufts			W 10-1	(21-4)
	Apr 25		 Curry			W 5-1	(22-4)
	Apr 25		 Colby			W 9-1	(23-4)
	Apr 26		 Curry			W 4-3	(24-4)
	Apr 26		 Championship v. Tufts	L 4-6	(24-5)
Wed	Apr 29		Mount Holyoke		W 6-2	(25-5)
Thu	Apr 30		Coast Guard		W 2-1	(26-5)
Thu	Apr 30		Coast Guard		L 2-11	(26-6)
Sun	May 3		Williams		W 7-6	(27-6)
Sun	May 3		Williams		W 2-0	(28-6)
	Allison Schwarting Named NESCAC Player of the Week
  Amherst Earns First-Ever NCAA Tournament Bid as No. 5 Seed
Thu-Sat	May 7-9		NCAA New England Regional at Bridgewater State
	May 7		Game 1: No. 4 Tufts		W 3-1	(29-6)
	May 8		Game 3: No. 1 Bridgewater	L 1-4	(29-7)
	May 8		Game 6: Tufts			W 1-0	(30-7)
	May 9		Game 7: Wheaton			W 4-3 (10)	(31-7)
			Game 8: Final v. Bridgewater	L 0-1	(31-8)
	Amherst Finishes Second in New England
	Four Named to NCAA Regional All-Tournament Team
	Liza Feldman Named NESCAC Player of the Week

Five Named to All-NESCAC Team
Sarah Rinaldi Named Academic All-District
Allison Schwarting Named All-New England
Amherst Finishes No. 16 in Nation
Head Coach: Don Faulstick
Assistant Coach: Sue Everden
Captains: Jen Shea '98, Sarah Rinaldi '98

 1997 Amherst College Softball

 Weekly Summaries

Last Modified May 28, 1998