55 Student-Athletes Earn Fall NESCAC All-Academic Honors

AMHERST, Massachusetts -- 55 Amherst College student athletes were named to the NESCAC All-Academic Squad for the fall of 1997. This is the league's third year recognizing athletes for both their academic and athletic achievements and 55 Amherst scholar athletes from ten teams have received this honor. To be eligible, a player must be a significant contributor to his or her team, while also maintaining a minimum B+ average in the classroom.

Fall teams experienced phenomenal success as they compiled a 77-25-2 (.750) record over a three-month span. Highlighting the season were NCAA runs for both men's and women's soccer. While the women concluded their fourth-straight appearance in the NCAAs with a 14-3 finish in the national quarterfinals, the men roared to their first-ever Final Four with a 12-5-2 mark. Football claimed another 7-1 season after falling just two seconds short of an undefeated season, while women's tennis posted another 9-0 season before claiming its third straight New England Championship. Both field hockey and women's volleyball continued its post-season streak in the ECACS, where they finished 10-3 and 25-13, respectively. Cross country and golf enjoyed similar success, cutting down times and strokes with each competition.

Founded in 1971, the New England Smallollege Athletic Conference (NESCAC) is a group of highly selective liberal arts colleges and universities that share a similar philosophy for intercollegiate athletics. The conference was created out of a concern for the direction of intercollegiate programs and remains committed to keeping a proper perspective on the role of sport in higher education.

NESCAC members believe intercollegiate programs should operate in harmony with the educational mission of each institution. For this reason, the presidents of NESCAC schools set conference policies and assume ultimate responsibility for the operations of their respective athletic departments.

Fall 1997 NESCAC All-Academic Squad
Amherst College representatives

Colin Barnacle
Luke Blocher
Payson Bullard
Steve Contreras
Jeff Coviello
James DeLuca
Greg Haendel
Peter McConville
David Nardolillo
Todd Nichols
Chris Scavone
Rob Schur
Alex Tracy
Jarrad Zalkin

Men's Soccer
Kevin Larner
Ben Haley
Nate McDonald
Jon George
Matt Diggs
Devin Talbott
Gary Kegel
Andy Kay
Mike Grant
Mike Sullivan

Women's Soccer
Sarah Fabian
Katie Missett
Lesley Greene
Katie Connelly
Shaunette Richards
Ellie Hickerson
Erika Johnson
Kerry Weeks
Eliza Meade

Field Hockey
Tyra Gettleman
Irene Permut
Marnie Huffman-Green
Heather Kestner

Women's Volleyball
Liz Delsman
Alice Noll
Adrienne Beshong

Women's Tennis
Sally Childs
Neely Steinberg
Sam Toerge

Cross Country
Dan Chandler
Hannah Gersen
Rachael Holloway
Erick Hung
Rob Mitchell
Allen Nunnally
Jon Prokup
Chris Thunen

David Fiorentino
Joe Graceffa
Erik Hardenbergh
Leah Ricci

# # # 12/10/97