Amherst Athletics  home


Amherst College > Athletics > Women's Basketball > McBride Tabbed District 1 Coach of the Year
McBride Named District 1 Russell Athletic/WBCA Coach of the Year
March 9, 2001

Billy McBride
Head Coach Billy McBride
is an automatic finalist
for WBCA National
Coach of the Year honors
AMHERST, MA - After leading his team to a school-record 23 wins and earning New England Small College Athletic Conference Coach of the Year honors, Amherst College head women's basketball coach Billy McBride was named the Russell Athletic District 1 Coach of the Year by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association of America on Thursday.

The Syracuse, N.Y. native guided Amherst to a 23-5 overall record, a first place finish in the final NESCAC regular season standings and a second straight outright Little Three Championship, decided annually between Amherst, Williams College and Wesleyan University. The 2000-01 Jeffs also smashed school records for winning percentage (.821), total points scored (1,754) and games played (28), and tied the single-season mark for fewest losses (5).

"We had a talented group of players that came together for a common goal and wasn't concerned about who took the credit," said McBride, who earned his 100th career victory with a 77-46 win over Babson College on Jan. 11. "The award is something I never expected. It shows what hard work can do for you."

After posting an 8-1 conference record, McBride's Jeffs earned the top-seed and hosted the first-ever NESCAC Postseason Tournament before bowing out unexpectedly to Bowdoin College, 54-41, in the championship game. After missing out on an at-large bid to the Division III NCAA Tournament, Amherst accepted the top-seed and hosted the ECAC New England Championship, where it fell to Colby College, 80-64, in the semifinals.

Billy McBride
McBride led the Jeffs to a school-record
23 wins and picked up his 100th
career victory on Jan. 11
Amherst was the only team in the NESCAC with three All-Conference picks-first-year Shannon Russell (Shrewsbury, MA) and sophomores Sarah Walker (West Hartford, CT) and Sara Bozorg (Amherst, MA). The Jeffs also finished 11th in the nation in scoring defense and field goal percentage defense and placed a bevy of players among the national leaders in a variety of statistical categories.

The WBCA selected Coach of the Year recipients from eight districts across the nation. Each automatically qualifies as a finalist for the Russell Athletic/WBCA National Coach of the Year award, to be chosen via conference call by a national committee March 14. The national award will be presented at the Russell Athletic/WBCA Coach of the Year Banquet on Wednesday, March 28 at 7 p.m. in the St. Louis Ballroom of the Adam's Mark Hotel.

McBride came to Amherst in 1990 after a stint as athletic director and head basketball and football coach at the Allen Stevenson School in New York City. Drafted by the San Francisco 49ers after a standout two-sport playing career at Tennessee State University, McBride played six years in the Canadian Football League and was an All-City and All-Upstate New York football and basketball player as a prep all-star at Central Tech (now Fowler High School) in Syracuse. He also led the Tennessee State basketball team to the NCAA Division II Final Four as a point guard in 1975.