Jeffs Qualify for 2007 NCAA Division III National Tournament

Sarah Harper '07
The 2007 Lord Jeffs are headed to the NCAA Division III NCAA Tournament.

May 2, 2007

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – This afternoon the NCAA Division III Women’s Golf Committee announce the field for the 2007 NCAA D-III Women’s Golf Championships, with the Amherst Lord Jeffs making the cut as a team.

Eleven conferences have been granted automatic qualification for this year’s championships, with the final nine teams being granted at-large bids to the tournament. Despite playing in one of the country’s most competitive conferences, Amherst played well enough this season to make the field through the at-large selection process.

The Lord Jeffs, who have never placed lower than seventh place in a tournament this season, are led by senior captain Sarah Harper (Rochester, MN). Harper enters championship play fresh of a second place result at the Williams Co-ed.
Additionally, the NCAA has granted 11 individuals the right to play unattached to their institutions.

The championships will consist of both team and individual competition conducted concurrently. The tournament consists of 72 holes of play over four days of competition. In the team competition, the low four scores from each team for each day will count in the team’s total score.

The championships will be conducted May 8-11 at the Mission Inn Golf and Tennis Resort in Howey-in-the-Hills, Florida. Oglethorpe University and the Central Florida Sports Commission will serve as hosts. The selected teams and individuals are listed below:

1. Methodist College
2. Gustavus Adolphus College
3. University of St. Thomas (Minnesota)
4. Middlebury College
5. DePauw University
6. Williams College
7. University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire
8. Illinois Wesleyan University
9. Southwestern University (Texas)
10. Simpson College
11. Olivet College
12. Allegheny College
13. Amherst College
14. Illinois College
15. University of Puget Sound
16. Vassar College
|17. University of California, Santa Cruz
18. Manchester College
19. Texas Lutheran University
20. Ohio Northern University

1. Katie Tewell, Franklin College
2. Jennifer Young, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh
3. Karla Leon, Macalester College
4. Kristi Martin, Hardin-Simmons University
5. Julia Gates, Oglethorpe University
6. Andrea Schiltz, Wartburg College
7. Jennifer Stork, Buena Vista University
8. Jessica Urban, University of Wisconsin, Stevens Point
9. Susie Lewis, University of Wisconsin, Stevens Point
10. Kassie Wells, Carleton College
11. Leslie Wheeler, Linfield College