The Staff
Head Coach of Amherst College   Amherst College Team
*Head Coach and Director of WMBC *Amherst College Basketball Team


David Hixon is currently in his 31th year as Basketball coach, at Amherst College. In his first year, 1977-78, Hixon was the youngest college varsity head coach in the country. As a player, he captained the Amherst Lord Jeffs during the 1974-75 campaign.*

In September of 2006 , Hixon was inaugurated into the prestigious New England Basketball Hall of Fame.

A verteran of many years of summer camps as both coach and player, Hixon feels that WMBC gives young players the instruction and experience which is needed for their development.


The staff consists of: Local High School and College Coaches, present and former outstanding players, also coaches from other areas of New England as both coaches and guest lecturers.


Past and Present WMBC Staff Members:

Ron Buelow  

Amherst College

Len Larabee   Westfield H.S.
Alan Wolejko   Westfield State/Umass/HCC
Claude Salomoa   Hampshire Regional
Dan Orzulak   Ware H.S.
Rey Harp   Northampton H.S.
Bill Reed   Smith Academy
Leon Szopa   Easthampton H.S.
Fred Ciaglo   Hopkins Academy
Marty Sanderson   Frontier Regional H.S.
Russ Reilly   Middlebury College
Don Doucette   Univ. of No. Carolina/UNH
Bob Licare   University of Lowell
Jim Todd   Salem State University
Rick Boyages   Ohio State
Phil Rowe   Keene State/UNH/GW
Tommy Verdell   Wilbraham & Monson Academy
G.P. Gromacki   Amherst College
Luke Flockerzi   Skidmore College
Adam Hutchinson   W & L College

*In his 31 years as a Head Coach of the "Lord Jeffs" his teams have won over 560 games, 12 little III titles and have earned 20 postseason invitations. His 1987-88 Team won the New England ECAC Championship and finished 21-5. His 1993-94 Team went to the "Elite Eight" round at the NCAA Tournament and finished 22-5. The 1994-95 and 1995-96 Teams won the ECAC Championship.

Since 2000, Amherst has won four NESCAC Championships and gone to the NCAA Tournament every season. In 2007, the team finished with a program record 30-2 record, and won the NCAA Division III National Championship.