Dan Wheeler '07
Senior quad-captain Dan Wheeler has had an impressive senior campaign

Wheeler Named Finalist for Prestigious Josten's Trophy

By Ben Kaplan '09

February 21, 2007

AMHERST, MA – Amherst College senior quad-captain Dan Wheeler has been selected as one of the 10 finalists for the highly prestigious Josten’s Trophy.  The sharp-shooting forward was chosen from a large pool of nominated Division III basketball players from across the nation.
The Josten’s Trophy, a national award founded by the Salem, VA Rotary Club, honors the most outstanding men’s and women’s Division III basketball players of the year.  The award, modeled after the Rotary motto of “Service above Self,” recognizes the ideal well-rounded Division III student-athlete by taking into account basketball ability, academic prowess and community service.

A prolific scorer, Wheeler leads the third-ranked Lord Jeffs in scoring with 13.8 points per game while shooting a remarkable .508 from the field.  He also recently totaled 1,000 points for his illustrious career.  Wheeler, the only male finalist from the NESCAC, was named Second Team All-NESCAC and NESCAC All-Academic last season.

The winners for the men’s and women’s awards will be announced March 5, with the award presentation occurring Thursday, March 15 at the Salem Civic Center, home of the Men’s Division III Championship being held March 16-17.    

2007 Josten’s Trophy Men's Finalists:                                                                                           
Justin Baker, Univ. Mary Washington                               
Ryan Cain, Worcester Polytechnic Institute                     
Zach Freeman, Illinois Wesleyan University                     
Matt Griffin, Johns Hopkins University                             
Kevin Guyden, Mary Hardin-Baylor                                 
Derek E. Hines, Franklin & Marshall College                    
Michael Hoyt, Mt. St. Mary College                                   
Joe Werner, UW-LaCrosse                                                    
Drew Wessels, Augustana College                                       
Dan Wheeler, Amherst College