Amherst College Athletics
Amherst College  
Site Map
Amherst College > Athletics > Men's Hockey > Kretzman, DiNardo Honored
Erik DiNardo '03 & head coach Jack Arena '87
Lawler Award recipient Erik DiNardo '03 (left) with Amherst head coach Jack Arena '83.

Kretzman, DiNardo Honored at New England Hockey Writers Banquet

April 17, 2003

AMHERST, MA - Amherst College menís hockey sophomore Beau Kretzman (Edina, MN/Edina) and senior Erik DiNardo (N. Reading, MA) were honored at the New England Hockey Writers Banquet at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass., on Wednesday night. Kretzman was recognized as an ECAC East/NESCAC All-Star for the second consecutive season, while DiNardo was presented the Thomas Lawler Award by the Eastern Mass. Hockey Officials Association, which recognizes the player from NCAA Division II or III who best combines heart, ability and sportsmanship.

A First-Team All-NESCAC selection in 2002-03 and the 2001-02 NESCAC Rookie of the Year, Kretzman led Amherst and finished among conference and NCAA leaders in nearly every offensive statistical category, including goals (19), assists (14), points (33), power-play goals (5) and power-play points (10). As a freshman, Kretzman eclipsed a number of Amherst scoring records, including the College's all-time single-season marks for goals and assists by a rookie. He fell just three goals shy of the Jeffs' overall single-season goal-scoring record of 28, set by Doug Smink in 1992-93, and one assist shy of the single-season record for assists by a freshman.

DiNardo played in 95 games at Amherst, finishing a stellar four-year career with 42 points on 15 goals and 27 assists. He helped lead the Jeffs to 46 wins, four NESCAC Tournament berths and a trip to the 2001 NESCAC Tournament Championship game.