Amherst College Athletics
Amherst College  
Site Map
Amherst College > Athletics > Softball > Jeffs Tabbed All-NESCAC

Peloquin, Scribner Tabbed All-NESCAC

Gina Scribner '04
Sophomore standout Gina Scribner earned her second All-NESCAC honor in as many seasons

May 20, 2002

AMHERST, MA Amherst College senior hurler Lauren Peloquin (Berkley, MA) and sophomore first baseman Gina Scribner (Star, ID) were named to the 2002 All-NESCAC Softball Team after leading the Jeffs to a 17-14 record and a berth in the conference postseason championship tournament.

Peloquin posted a 14-9 record, a 1.87 ERA and 165 strikeouts in 165.0 innings, rounding out her career as a four-time All-NESCAC selection. She was also a Third-Team All-American as a first-year, the NESCAC Player of the Year as a sophomore and the Conference Pitcher of the Year as a junior. Peloquin holds nearly every single-season and career pitching record at Amherst.

Meanwhile, Scribner earned her second straight All-Conference nod by virtue of a .406 batting average, 18 RBI's, 10 doubles and two home runs all team-highs. She also earned NESCAC Rookie of the Year honors in 2001.

Senior shortstop Jen Mackey and senior pitcher Jodie Moreau of conference champion Tufts University were named the 2002 NESCAC Player and Pitcher of the Year, respectively. Mackey, a repeat first-team selection, led the conference in hitting with a .471 average with league-best totals of 49 hits and 38 runs. Moreau went 3-0 in the NESCAC championship tournament to give her a 19-1 record and 0.52 earned run average.

First-year outfielder Courtney Bongiolatti of Tufts was named the 2002 NESCAC Rookie of the Year. She batted .397 with five home runs, 10 doubles, and 23 runs scored. Tufts head coach Kris Talon was named NESCAC Softball Coach of the Year after leading the Jumbos to their second consecutive conference title and sixth straight trip to the NCAA Division III Championship tournament.