Amherst College Athletics
Amherst College  
Site Map
Amherst College > Athletics > Men's Hockey > Hockey Teams Set for Postseason

Hockey Teams Claim No. 7 Seeds in Respective NESCAC Championship Tournaments

February 19, 2002

Beau Kretzman '05
First-year forward Beau Kretzman is the NESCAC's second leading scorer
AMHERST, MA - The Amherst College men's and women's hockey teams each earned the seventh and final seed in their respective NESCAC Postseason Championship Tournaments, with first-round action set to commence on Saturday, when both teams will travel to Brunswick, Maine to take on second-seeded Bowdoin College. The women's game will tip off at 3:30 p.m. with the men to follow at 7 p.m.

Middlebury College earned the top seed in both tournaments and will host the men's and women's semifinals and championship games. The men's Final Four will take place on Saturday and Sunday, March 2-3, while the women's Final Four is scheduled for Friday and Saturday, March 1-2.

Amherst's men closed out the regular season 6-13-5 overall and 6-9-4 in conference play. Despite dropping their last two games, 8-2 at Bowdoin and 4-2 at Colby, the Jeffs managed to claim the NESCAC's final postseason slot, thanks to a 7-4 win over Conn. College and an 8-1 victory over Tufts University on February 1-2. First-year forward Beau Kretzman (Edina, MN) earned NESCAC and U.S. College Hockey Online Player of the Week honors after tallying four goals and three assists in the pair of key conference wins. Kretzman is the second leading scorer in the NESCAC behind Bowdoin senior Michael Carosi, and leads the Jeffs in goals (24), assists (19) and points (43). All three are the highest totals ever recorded by an Amherst freshman.

While the men are postseason veterans, advancing to the NESCAC Championship game in 2001, Amherst's women are making their first-ever postseason appearance. Head coach Kay Cowperthwait's Jeffs have used a balanced attack to post a 6-14-1 overall record (4-11-1 NESCAC) and claim the seventh and final slot in the inaugural women's tournament. Amherst boasts eight different players with seven or more points, led by sophomore forward Alison White's (Brookline, MA) eight goals and five assists. Junior tri-captain Danielle Williams (Needham, MA), who finished fifth in the NESCAC and sixth in the ECAC with 23 goals and 15 assists as a sophomore, is right behind White with 12 points in 2001-02. Meanwhile, junior tri-captain goaltender Heidi Alexander (Edina, MN) has been a life-saver between the pipes, turning away 636 shots en route to an .895 save percentage.

The top seven teams in regular season conference play qualify for the NESCAC men's and women's hockey championship tournaments. The top-seeded team hosts the semifinal and final rounds, while the next three seeds play home games in the first round. The top seed faces the lowest remaining seed in one semifinal and the other two first-round winners face off in the other semifinal. Each tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Championship tournament.

2002 NESCAC Men's Hockey Tournament
First-Round / Saturday, Feb. 23
No. 7 Amherst (6-9-4, 6-13-5) at No. 2 Bowdoin (14-2-3, 17-3-3), 7:00 p.m.
No. 6 Colby (11-5-3, 14-6-3) at No. 3 Hamilton (13-5-1, 14-9-1), 3:00 p.m.
No. 5 Williams (12-5-2, 14-8-2) at No. 4 Trinity (13-5-1, 15-7-1), 7:30 p.m.

Semifinals / Saturday, Mar. 2 @ Middlebury - 12:30 p.m. & 4 p.m.
Lowest remaining seed at No. 1 Middlebury (18-0-1, 22-1-1)
Two other first-round winners

Championship / Sunday, Mar. 3 @ Middlebury - 1 p.m.
Semifinal winners

2002 NESCAC Women's Hockey Tournament
First-Round / Saturday, Feb. 23
No. 7 Amherst (4-11-1, 6-14-1) at No. 2 Bowdoin (13-2-0, 19-3-0), 3:30 p.m.
No. 6 Hamilton (5-11-0, 8-15-0) at No. 3 Colby (11-4-0, 12-5-1), 3:00 p.m.
No. 5 Wesleyan (5-10-1, 6-14-3) at No. 4 Williams (10-6-0, 13-9-1), TBA

Semifinals / Friday, Mar. 1 @ Middlebury - 4 p.m. & 7:30 p.m.
Lowest remaining seed at No. 1 Middlebury (16-0-0, 19-1-1)
Two other first-round winners

Championship / Saturday, Mar. 2 @ Middlebury - 7:30 p.m.
Semifinal winners