Hersey, Skorupski Named All-NESCAC

AMHERST, Massachusetts -- Two Amherst College student-athletes were recognized as All-NESCAC Second Team selections by a vote of basketball coaches from the New England Small College Athletic Conference. The 11 members of the NESCAC named a first and second team for both the men and the women as the top 10 players in the league. This is the second year that All-NESCAC baskeball honors have been bestowed.

Katie Hersey (Westford, MA), a junior tri-captain of the women's basketball team, repeats as an All-NESCAC Second Team selection. The forward finished as the league's second leading rebounder, pulling down 9.7 boards per game as Amherst's second all-time leading rebounder with 625 in three years. Averaging 14.3 points per game, Hersey highlighted her season with a career-high 31-point show at Wesleyan that also featured 13 rebounds and four of her 60 assists this season. That performance earned Hersey her second NESCAC Player of the Week honor as she averaged 21.7 points and 13.0 rebounds in three games. Also an All-NESCAC soccer player, Hersey will begin her senior season with 29 double-doubles (15 this year) and as Amherst's fifth all-time leading scorer with 946 points.

Senior tri-captain Billy Skorupski (North Hatfield, MA) makes his first appearance on the All-NESCAC Second Team after finishing the regular season as the league's third-leading rebounder, averaging 8.7 per game. The center had begun the season as the MVP of the Ramapo Tournament, and he was named to the ECAC Honor Roll after posting a career-high 27 points at Middlebury to rally the Jeffs from a 13-point deficit toward their 13th straight victory. Amherst had jumped out to its best start ever with a 13-0 record, and Lord Jeff men's basketball continues in the ECAC Tournament tonight at 7:00pm. Finishing the regular season with a 19-4 mark, the Jeffs claimed the top-seed in their 13th ECAC appearance. Facing fifth-seeded Keene State (20-8) tonight, the Jeffs hope to claim their fifth ECAC title and third in four years in the Championship game on Sunday, March 8 at 2:00pm.

1997-98 All-NESCAC Basketball

Men's First Team
Mike Nogelo		Sr.	F	Williams
Zach Smith		Sr.	F	Conn College
Michael Schantz		Jr.	F	Hamilton
Jon Schmeigel		Jr.	F	Hamilton
Ken Allen		So.	G	Colby

Men's Second Team
John Mulfinger		Jr.	F	Trinity
Matt Hunt		Jr.	F	Williams
Pat Skerry		Sr.	G	Tufts
Kareem Tatum		Fr.	G	Conn College
Billy Skorupski		Sr.	C	Amherst

Women's First Team
Kathleen Higgins	Jr.	G	Williams
Gretchen MacColl	So.	F	Trinity
Emily King		So.	F	Bates
Kim Condon		Fr.	F/G	Colby
Lauren Brown		Sr.	G/F	Middlebury

Women's Second Team
Samantha Good		So.	G	Bowdoin
Colleen McCrave		Jr.	G	Bates
Katie Hersey		Jr.	F	Amherst
Rebecca Brooks		So.	F	Williams
Chrissy Peterson	Jr.	F	Middlebury

#          #          #