Men's Draws: Main | Feed-In Consolation | Consolation
Women's Draws: Main | Feed-In Consolation | Consolation

Amherst to Host Individual National Championship
for Men's and Women's Squash

AMHERST, Massachusetts -- Amherst College will host a weekend of championship squash as the NISRA and USWISRA Individual National Championships will be held at the newly renovated Davenport Squash Courts from Friday, February 27 to Sunday, March 1, 1998. This is the first time since the 1991 season that Amherst has hosted this event.

The National Intercollegiate Squash Racquets Association (NISRA has prepared a 64-player draw of the finest men's intercollegiate squash players. Daniel Ezra (London, England), a junior from seven-time national team champion Harvard University, claims the No. 1 men's seed after falling in last year's championship match to second-seeded Marcus Cowie (Norfolk, England), now a sophomore at Trinity College in Connecticut. Sophomore David McNeely (Newtown Square, PA) of Amherst claims the No. 3 seed, and junior Amir Give'on (Herzlia, Israel) of Princeton University rounds out the top four.

The United States Women's Intercollegiate Squash Racquets Association (USWISRA) also has a 64-player draw led by Julia Beaver (Brooklyn, NY), a first-year at 1998 national team champion Princeton. Jessica DiMauro (Toronto, Ontario), last year's runner-up and the 1996 Singles Champion as a freshman at the University of Pennsylvania, earns a No. 2 ranking, followed by sophomore Janine Thompson (Port Elizabeth, South Africa) of Trinity and senior Ivy Pochoda (Brooklyn, NY) of Harvard at Nos. 3 and 4.

The 64 men represent 24 colleges and universities, while the women hail from 23 different institutions. Collectively, 29 schools will send representatives, led by Princeton and Yale with 10 participants each. Amherst, Harvard, Trinity and the University of Pennsylvania will each begin with nine scholar-athletes seeking the championship crown.

Along with McNeely, the hosting Amherst men's team boasts five players: junior Kevin Orphan (Atlanta, GA), rookie Addison West (Haverford, PA), senior Hayden Felice (Radnor, PA), senior co-captain Evan Khan (Seattle, WA) and junior Stephen Seelbach (Short Hills, NJ). The Amherst women are represented by junior Page Callaghan (Strafford, PA), sophomore Rachel Nisselson (Brooklyn, NY) and senior co-captain Justine O'Connor (Brooklyn, NY).

Matches begin at 9:00am on Friday, and two rounds will be played each day until the men's and women's national champions are declared Sunday evening. Each participant is guarenteed two matches, as there will be two consolation brackets in addition to the main tournament draw. The women's championship match is currently scheduled to begin on the William McC. Vickery Court at 1:00pm on Sunday, and the men's final will be played on the same court beginning at 4:30pm. There will be no admission charge for any round.

Results can be obtained on the internet through the International Squash Racquets homepage at the following URL:

The main draws, along with the two consolation brackets will also have a link through the Amherst College Sports Website at Results will be faxed upon request to Irene Cheung, Amherst Sports Information Director. She can be reached by e-mail at or by telephone at 413 542-2390.

# # # 2/25/98