Amherst/Mount Holyoke to Host 21st Annual Northeast Intercollegiate Championship

AMHERST, Massachusetts -- Amherst College and Mount Holyoke College will host the Twenty-First Annual Northeast Intercollegiate Women's Golf Championship on Saturday, April 25 and Sunday, April 26. A field of 13 colleges and universities from New Hampshire to New Jersey will compete at Hickory Ridge and The Orchards Golf Club.

Teams of five women will compete for the Northeast Championship with the four lowest scores contributing to a team score for each day. The University of Hartford claimed the team title in 1997 with a two-day stroke total of 666, while Yale University was the runner-up with 676. Many Moan of Princeton University led all individuals with a 155 score, followed by Natalie Wong of Yale just one stroke behind.

Awards will be bestowed upon the top two teams and top two individuals. In addition, coaches will nominate and vote for four special awards. They are as follows:

  1. Northeast Intercollegiate Women's Golf Player of the Year
  2. Northeast Intercollegiate Women's Golf Rookie of the Year
  3. Northeast Intercollegiate Women's Golf All-Tournament Team
  4. Northeast Intercollegiate Women's Golf Coach of the Year

Winners will be announced approximately one week after the conclusion of the championship.

Results will be available on the web as soon as they are available. The URL is

The 13 teams competing this weekend are as follows:

# # # 4/23/98