1997 Fall
Football
Men's Soccer
Women's Soccer
Field Hockey
Volleyball
Women's Tennis
Cross Country
Golf

1997-98 Winter
Men's Basketball
Women's Basketball
Men's Ice Hockey
Women's Ice Hockey
Men's Squash
Women's Squash
Men's Swimming
  and Diving
Women's Swimming
  and Diving
Indoor Track

1998 Spring
Baseball
Softball
Men's Lacrosse
Women's Lacrosse
Men's Tennis
Women's Tennis
Track and Field
Golf

Clubs

Archives

Directory

SID Page

AC Home

Amherst College Sports

1997 Amherst College Men's Soccer (12-5-2)

 Peter Gooding Named Head Men's Soccer Coach

 1997 Roster

 Final Team Statistics

 Final NSCAA Team Rankings

 Upcoming Match Schedule

Sat.-Sun. Sept. 13-14	Amherst Invitational	Home
UMass/Dartmouth W 2-1 (1-0) St. Thomas d. WNEC 4-1 St. Thomas W 3-0 (2-0) Tue. Sept. 16 at Brandeis W 1-0 (3-0) Sat. Sept. 20 at Connecticut College T 3-3 (OT) (3-0-1) Sat. Sept. 27 Bowdoin W 3-1 (4-0-1)  Amherst ranked No. 1 in New England and No. 7 in nation! Sat. Oct. 4 Middlebury W 1-0 (5-0-1)  Amherst Holds onto Top Spot in New England Wed. Oct. 8 Trinity W 3-1 (6-0-1) Sun. Oct. 12 Springfield W 3-2 (7-0-1) Wed. Oct. 15 Wheaton L 1-2 (7-1-1) Sat. Oct. 18 Wesleyan L 0-2 (7-2-1) Wed. Oct. 22 Babson W 3-1 (8-2-1) Sat. Oct. 25 Tufts L 0-2 (8-3-1) Sun. Nov. 2 at Colby L 2-3 (8-4-1) Sat. Nov. 8 at Williams W 2-1 OT (9-4-1)  Andy Kay Named NESCAC Player of the Week  Amherst Earns Third NCAA Tournament Bid NCAA Tournament: New England No. 4 seed
Wed. Nov. 12 No. 5 Middlebury T 3-3 4ot (4-2 PKs) (9-4-2) NCAA New England Regionals at Brunswick, Maine
Tue. Nov. 18 No. 1 Bowdoin W 2-0 (10-4-2)
Wed. Nov. 19 No. 2 Plymouth State W 3-2 (11-4-2) NCAA Quarterfinals at Amherst, Massachusetts
Match still on schedule despite Snow
Sat. Nov. 22 Ithaca (14-4-1) W 2-0 (12-4-2) NCAA National Championship Weekend
Fri. Nov. 28 The College of New Jersey (16-5) L 1-2 (12-5-2) Sat. Nov. 29 Wheaton (IL) d. College of NJ 3-0

 Tim Christian Named to All-NESCAC First Team

 Men's Soccer Finishes No. 4 in Nation

 Tim Christian Named All-America

 Tim Christian and Andy Kay Named All-New England

 Tim Christian Named to NEISL Senior All-Star Team

Head Coach: Peter Gooding
Assistant Coach: Milton Gooding
Co-Captains: Mike Sullivan '98, Tim Christian '98

Last Modified April 23, 1998