Three-time First-Team All-NESCAC selection, senior tri-captain Derek Cherney will lead a high powered Amherst offense this season.

Lord Jeffs Look Strong in 2007

February 19, 2007

2006 RECAP
The Amherst College men’s lacrosse team wrapped up its 2006 campaign on a high note, with wins in two of the team’s last three contests. Although they finished the season with an overall record of 4-10 (3-6 NESCAC), the final three games taught the young Jeffs a lot about winning big games, especially in the NESCAC. In a season where the Jeffs lost five games by a single goal, their late-season victories over Conn. College and Williams College demonstrated maturation. The Jeffs were able to keep it close with some of the best teams in the nation, taking Middlebury College to overtime. The team did, however, name three players to the All-NESCAC squad, including two key returnees from this season’s roster.

The Jeffs lose seven seniors to graduation, highlighted by Second Team United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) 2005 STX-Geico All-America Long-Stick Midfielder Andrew Wilcox. Also a four-time all-region and First Team All-NESCAC selection, Wilcox was an on-field example of leadership. Along with classmates Raul Altreche, Ben Lavely, Caleb Deats, Joaquin Walker, and captains Sean Murray and Kevin Boova, last year’s seniors provided a solid foundation of leadership in every position on the field. On the defensive side, winner of the NCAA Inspiration Award goaltender Altreche will be sorely missed in the locker room. He leaves Amherst as one of the most inspiring, committed and passionate student-athletes in the history of the Amherst lacrosse and Lord Jeff athletics. In the midfield, quad-captain Kevin Boova will be sorely missed as one of the most consistent players, tallying a total of 75 points during his tenure. Joaquin Walker, Ben Lavely, Caleb Deats and quad-captain Sean Murray collected over 95 points from the midfield, with Walker leading the way, scoring 44 goals and tallying 19 assists for 63 points.

Amherst enters this season ready to continue the momentum the team had at the end of last season. Its distinguished list of returnees is highlighted by a three-time First Team All-NESCAC selection in senior attacker Derek Cherney. Twice an Honorable Mention for USILA STX-Geico All-America, Cherney earned New England and NESCAC Rookie of the Year in 2004 and NESCAC Co-Player of the Year in 2005. He’s also a two-time all-region selection as he enters his second year of being captain with 145 points to his credit. His sophomore totals of 68 points on 39 goals and 29 assists were good enough to rank him 20th in the nation in scoring, tops in the conference in points and goals and tied for second in the NESCAC in assists.

Bolstering Cherney on the offensive end will be tri-captain Chris Hoffman and sophomores Brett Miller and Thomas Foote. Miller had a breakout rookie season, collecting 19 points on 16 goals and three assists. Hoffman had a sensational sophomore campaign, finishing fifth in the NESCAC in goals (34) and ninth in scoring (44 points), while Foote will see an increasingly important role as a backup in the attack.

Senior tri-captain Chris Hoffman will help amp up the Amherst attack

Tri-captain Rob Madden and junior Will Ferrer head a talented and deep Amherst midfield. Ferrer had a breakout year last season, tallying 23 goals and seven assists en route to Second Team All-NESCAC honors. Classmate T.J. Jackson and sophomore Tim Thornton return to the field hoping to build on their success from last season. Reinforcing their efforts will be sophomores Nick Gilligan, Matt Himler, Conor McDowell and Jelani Lundy-Harris.

After a season of learning to play with one another, this year’s defense enters the 2007 season with better cohesiveness and fluidity. Seniors David Beck and Owen Neill along with sophomores Chris Fitzpatrick and Clint Marchese will support the back line for the Jeffs. Coming off the bench for the Jeffs will be junior Brett Larson, who has contributed solid minutes as a valuable substitution. John Armideo and Evan O’Roarke will vie for time as the Long-Stick Midfielder. Sophomore Matt Pietroforte gained a lot of experience from last season, and will be relied on this year to lead the Jeffs between the pipes.


Amherst Head Coach Tom Carmean welcomes another group of talented first-years this spring. Thomas McDonnell and Jordan Gruskay will vie for time on the attack. This year’s class offers a wealth of newcomers in the midfield, including Vincent DiForte, Christian Desrosiers, Benjamin Ewbank, Rob Denious, John Conway, J.T. Milone, Luke O’Brian and Alex Miller. On defense, the Jeffs welcome Michael Greenberg, Franco Aguirre, and Nigel Carr, with Kyle Standiford at Long-Stick Midfield and Andrew Harrison in goal. Closing out the deep class of first-years is Matt Kellman, who is the lone face-off specialist in the class of 2010.

Men's Lacrosse
Men's Lacrosse Home

2007 Milestones


Season Preview



Team Statistics

Career Totals

Elite 180 Lax Camp